So this is the New Year…

…And I don’t feel any different. Or so goes the Death Cab for Cutie song, and they’re not really wrong, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing! My New Years Eve has become somewhat of a tradition. Every year a bunch of friends and I dress up in fancy suits and dresses and go out to have the time of our lives. Before that however, we indulge ourselves in a truely festive meal, prepared by yours truly. Each year a try to outdo myself and this year I tried that with the following 5 course meal:

~Appetizer~

Verrine with a cheese cream, glazed tomatoes

and a pistou of rocket and basil

***

~First Course~

Cheese croquette on a spread of corn salad

***

~Soup~

Pumpkin & Ginger soup

***

~Main Coarse~

Roast leg of lamb with mint sauce and gravy,

mashed potatoes with rosemary,

accompanied with a crunchy coleslaw

***

~Dessert~

Tiramisu with home made “speculaas” and Amaretto

***

I am however sad to say that I’m still more a cook than I am a photographer, meaning I don’t have pictures of all the courses. But be assured that the dishes described will become regulars in our kitchen so recipes and pictures will follow ;).

Now of course, with the new year comes new year resolutions and I thought I’d share them with you, my loyal followers.

1) I’m gonna try to get back in shape. People who know me, know that I say this every year, so this year I decided to make some goals for myself. I want to get back into running, and to further encourage myself I’m making myself run the Antwerp 10 miles. Well, actually, I’m making myself run the 5k run of the Antwerp 10miles. Sure it might not be as much as 10miles, but always remember that slow and steady shall win the race!

2) I want get more into photography! I’ve gotten myself a fancy smancy camera, and soon I’m planning on buying an even fancier lens so there are no more excuses! This involves going for long walks to get some awesome shots, which again will help me to get back in shape! To fulfill this I will of course need one of those nifty Flickr accounts, and with every new account I make I just HAVE to have an original username. Since I’ve been thinking about this for quite some time and can’t really find a name I’m satisfied with, I come forth with a request for your help!

3) There are friends of mine who I only see about once a year, usual around new year’s. So this year we all decided that we’d put more effort into seeing each other more often!

4) Last but not least, I want to be posting on a more regular base. I think that in november-december I already started doing a pretty good job of it. But during the festivities I’ve been slacking a bit (which I’m sure you’ll understand), but no more! Again, I’m gonna need some goals here, so I will post at least once a week from now on, if not, well, we’ll just have to find an adequate punishment won’t we? Suggestions anyone? 😉

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to So this is the New Year…

  1. Hannelore says:

    My god I feel so bad for missing out on this feast!=O
    It all sounds delish! I do hope to be part of your ‘gang’ next time you decide to surpass this effort ^^
    Anywhoooo, can’t wait to see some of your work, photography that is. And if you ever need a health/fit coach, you have my number ;p

    xx
    BTW: What about ‘The Naked Photographer’ ! =D instead of The naked chef! It does sound kinda creepy though! LOL

Leave a Reply

