Lets go bananas! (banana bread recipe)

As promised earlier this week, I made a banana bread this weekend! That’s right, some youngster like to go out on a saturday night, some make banana bread. I guess I belong to the latter :p

The original recipe can be found at Simply Recipes (I took the liberty of reposting it with metric measures), which is actually one of my favorite food blogs/sites. The recipes are well explained and fun to read, and don’t get me started on those fabulous pictures, I’m truly in love! If this blog ever becomes even a fraction of what simply recipes is today, I’ll consider myself a happy an fulfilled man.

That being said, the recipe worked at pretty well! Don’t believe me? Just take a look at my most fierce critic, my goddaughter:

If she’s satisfied, I can’t imagine anyone who wouldn’t be! Next time I would like to experiment with a little shot of dark rum or some dried coconut, but as this was the first time I made it, I resisted the urge to experiment and kept to the recipe. BTW, if you can’t find any  baking soda (like me), just use baking powder instead, but double the amount (2 teaspoons in this case).

Ingredients

  • 3 or 4 ripe bananas, smashed
  • 170g melted butter
  • 240g sugar (can easily reduce to 180g)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda (=sodium bicarbonate)
  • Pinch of salt
  • 180g of all-purpose flour

Method

No need for a mixer for this recipe. Preheat the oven to 350°F (175°C). With a wooden spoon, mix butter into the mashed bananas in a large mixing bowl. Mix in the sugar, egg, and vanilla. Sprinkle the baking soda and salt over the mixture and mix in. Add the flour last, mix. Pour mixture into a buttered 4×8 inch loaf pan. Bake for 1 hour. Cool on a rack. Remove from pan and slice to serve.

PS: I’ve got an interesting new product review coming up the next couple of days so stay tuned! (hint: it’s not a book)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lets go bananas! (banana bread recipe)

  1. Hannelore says:

    Cuuute picture ^^
    Sounds really yum, I think it’s goin to be GREAT with coconut! So invite me when you bake that =p
    xxx

  2. Gisèle says:

    Oh she’s grown so big! I would love to take her picture, she’s so calm: I could have a long trail & error photoshoot with her as subject 😉 Please don’t feed the kids the rum cake!

    • flavourjourney says:

      Aah but don’t be fooled by the pictures. She might look very calm, but once you put her down she starts crawling around like a little GI Jane :p
      And don’t worry about the rum, I’d only use a little for the flavour and the bread sits an hour (or more) in the oven which is more than enough time for the alcohol to evaporate. I would never dare giving her something harmful 😉

Leave a Reply

